The Wurzels Archives

The Wurzels

"Freshly Cut" Cassette

'Freshly Cut was the eighth post-Adge Wurzel album. Its main release was as a 12" vinyl LP in 1983 which turned out to be the last vinyl album release by The Wurzels. This cassette was issued around the same time on the private Wurzel Records [ Clapton In Gordano, Bristol] label, catalogue number TC-WR 854675. The tracks are identical to the vinyl release.

Track Listing:

  • Side 1  
  • 1. Wurzel Rap (L Sheriden)
    2. Shovel It Here (Banner/Baylis) 
    3. (If You Got) Nothin' On Tonight
    4. Wurzels In Stereo (S.Fearn) 
    5. Manooer (David Newman/Peter Osbourne) 
    6. All Over Mendip (Cutler) 
    7. Forget Me Not (Les Van Dyke)

  • Side 2
  • 1. I Wish I Was Back On The Farm (MacDougal) 
    2. Wurzel In Love (LSheridan) 
    3. Super Rooster (LSheridan) 
    4. Little Drop Of Home Made Wine  (P Evans/R Owen)
    5. Little Darlin' (M.Williams) 
    6. I Hate J.R. (Ed Welch)

The Cassette :

Although a private release the cassette shell is very much of the standard used by EMI and other major companies. The case is similar to those used generally in the music industry at the time - clear fronts and black bodies with a lightly mottled effect on the back face.

The Wurzels Archives

Cassette Case Insert:

This cassette case insert is very similar in style to that introduced by EMI in early 1977.
Like the LP sleeve for this album there were no sleeve notes on the cassette insert. Song credits were (generally) abbreviated to surnames only on the cassette insert.

The Wurzels Archives
The Wurzels Archives
The Wurzels Archives

Collectors' Extras:

Nice example of the cassette case insert autographed by the three band members - Tommy Banner, Tony Baylis and Pete Budd.

The information within this page is intended to be used only for purposes of private study, scholarship or research, in accordance with the legal principle of fair use.